The Secrets You Could Be Sharing Online

Various Facebook Privacy Settings - A Cheat Sheet for Quick Reference

When you share profile information or a post on Facebook, you have the option to change its privacy settings.

There are a few options to choose from. In this quick guide, we show you how to set privacy settings for posts and what each different option means.

Changing the Settings for a Post

When you go to create a new post, you'll see this option:

If you click on the downward arrow, you get this:

Clicking, "more," gives you even further options:

And finally, going to "see all," will reveal all of the privacy setting options available to you:

Here's our cheat sheet explaining exactly what they mean:

Facebook Privacy Setting Options in Plain English

Setting What does it mean?
Public Anyone can see this, whether they know you or not. Users don't even have to be logged into Facebook to see this.
Friends Only people you are friends with will be able to see this.
Friends Except This option allows you to exclude some friends from seeing a post. So selecting it allows you to then choose friends you would prefer didn't see it. You might use this if you're checking in somewhere to surprise someone and don't want them to see it, for example. Or you might have some friends you haven't seen who you would rather didn't see things like photos of your children. Or maybe you just don't want your Mum seeing updates from nights out! This setting is best used when you want most of your friends to see something, but there's a handful of exceptions
Specific Friends This allows you to select friends to see this post. This is best used when you don't want most of your friends to see something, but you might have a handful of people you want to show something to. Perhaps you only want really close friends seeing your check ins or photos of the children, for example
Only Me If a post is set to "Only Me," then, as it says on the tin, only you will see it. So don't expect any likes! ;)
Custom This is where Facebook offers a lot of flexibility. It allows you to create lists of people and share with them, for example. Or combine lists with individuals from your friends list. If you regularly share content you would only want family to see, for example, you could create a family list and use "custom," just to share with that list.